Make Something Good

Plushies from hell, my favourite artist, phenomenal chocolate, stunning stained glass and a hundred other amazing makers made Make Good the most inspiring event I’ve been to in a long time.

Makegood.Festival

My life is ridiculous at the moment. While I dislike blogs that are all me, me, me, as quite frankly I don’t think any of you particularly want to know about the minute of my life (despite the fact I am, obviously, fascinating) bear with me while I get self indulgent for a moment. You see, I’ve been stuck in a blur of trying to run a business, forward plan, look after kids, freelance, pitch, work on our ceramics range, help make a year 1 science project, work on a club door and clean my house (OK so the last one is a lie, it’s still a pit) among a million other chores and tasks. I’ve even been employed by stealth to work on a magazine two days a week, which I didn’t even notice happening. It means making and blogging have had to take an underserved back seat, but I think, thanks to Make Good, I may have got the kick up the bum to sort my life out and start making changes.

Makegood Programme of Events-2

For those of you who don’t know, Make Good was a ‘festival of culture, creativity and entrepreneurship’  – basically lots of unique start-up businesses founded by a whole host of weird and wonderful people (emphasis on the wonderful) doing everything from millinery to accountancy, café owners to artisan cider producers. Most of the companies are here thanks to School For Creative Start-Ups, who help creative people make viable businesses by providing mentors, business know-how, courses, advice and support to turn your hobby or fledgling firm into a full-time job that more than pays the rent.  Basically they sound pretty damn amazing.

Creative.Places..Sewing.at.Makegood.Festival

It really was inspiring not only finding new projects and people to write about – and buy from – but to feel so much positivity in one place. I’m now going to see if I can sign up for the School For Creative Start-Ups for the café, get some more childcare and start making time to make again.

So to kick this off, here’s my round up of my favourite businesses and people I met at Make Good (although it really is the tip of the iceberg, check out the full list here) before I toddle off to start on the enormous to do list I have made for myself…

Mock Duck Studios Amazing puppeteers who not only make all the Duracell Bunnies, but quirky creations such as these…

IMG_7442

Cocoa Hernando Beautiful artisan chocolate makers with stylish packaging, almost as good as the chocolate inside. The masala chai can only be described as heavenly…

IMG_7441

Renn Designs Unique kid’s wallpaper that  isn’t too twee. I am mildly obsessed with the girl flying on a swallow on the pink one…

IMG_7420

Matt Sewell My favourite artist of all time Matt Sewell was there which came as a great surprise. Not only are his birds beautiful, but he was absolutely lovely, excused the fact I sounded a bit like a stalker, has some amazing projects coming up and made me this…

IMG_7432

R. G. Croudence Glass Incredibly talented stained glass maker and restorer, using exciting new techniques, while also recreating more traditional designs (like the ones which used to be in my mum and dad’s terraced house before the days of double glazing)…

9e7f14_3fa3b8a4e6a97d0eae1fd4c9e7dc50f8.jpg_srz_299_218_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srz

The Rag and Bone Man Taking upcycling to a whole new level, the Rag and Bone Man transforms vintage machinery and scrap into stylish pieces for the home…

IMG_7443

Mrs McGettericks Fuggler Emporium The freakish little fellas are so awesome they’re getting their own blog coming soon! Promise!

IMG_7440

Leave a Reply

