Crafty Like A Fox

Craft markets are dangerous places. No matter how much I try and restrain myself I always end up coveting items on other people’s stalls and making a rather presumptuous list of items my partner can buy me for Christmas. Well if it’s good enough for my five-year-old daughter, it’s good enough for me.

Image

I’ve done some great craft markets in my time (and some shockingly rubbish ones too, naming no names, for now anyway), but Crafty Fox in Brixton has to be one of the best I’ve been lucky enough to be a part of. Brilliantly organised, lots of customers and damn fine tunes playing in the background.

Image

Not only were some of my favourite other crafty seller there including JimBobArt (who currently owes me three lighters, just in case you’re reading James) and Kate Rowland (although I missed her as she was on the Saturday, boo.), but I got to discover a whole range of other makers who will be seriously testing my bank manager’s patience in the coming months.

While it’s a near impossible to pick, I’ve tried my best and here are my five favourite sellers from the Sunday market

Sandra Dieckmann‘s beautiful prints

Image

Floss and Mischief’s quirky cross-stitch

Image

Oh My Clumsy Heart’s lovely jewellery

ImageJill’s lush purses

Image

Pygmy Cloud’s super cute critters

_MG_0527-2

Plus a special shout out to the lovely Paper Moon, Mister Peebles and Terri Leahy. Damn it, there wasn’t one bad egg there.

I also got to show off a couple of my new items including this new cape / coat…

IMG_5925

And my new Peter Pan collar dress…

IMG_5898

… which I still need to take proper pictures of and put on my Folksy site. I even got a chance to stitch my new fox to go on the shoulders of T Shirts to take the place of the hand-drawn one I was doing. Although I may pop him on some zip tops too or even a dress for me. A crafty fox for Crafty Fox. Lovely stuff!

IMG_5984

Leave a Reply

