Game Of Thrones: Embellishing the Details

When watching Game Of Thrones it never occurred to me that there was a craft genius working behind the scenes.

Maybe I was too busy swooning like a schoolgirl over Jon Snow or throwing up a little bit every time I saw Joffrey, but if I had just looked a little bit closer I would have seen some of the most amazing and beautiful embroidery adorning both the men and women of the Seven Kingdoms.

Image

Image

The stitcher behind the beautiful embellishments is Michele Carragher. The London-based hand embroiderer and illustrator has been working in costumes for the film and TV industry for over 15 years and has worked on Pirates Of The Caribbean On Stranger Tides, the BBC’s Our Mutual Friend, ITV’s David Copperfield and Mansfield Park.

Image

The level of detail on all of the costumes, which were designed by MIchele Clapton, is breathtaking, but what makes it even more impressive is that pretty much every stitch is done by hand. While it puts to shame my attempts at embroidery (and there was me thinking my running stitch was pretty good, pah!), it’s hugely inspiring at the same time that this level of importance is put on the costumes of the characters. There was recently a show in New York of all the props from the show. Shame it would have been a rather pricey day out.

Image

Everyone who works on the show, is obsessed with detail. The wildings armour, for example, was made using molds of human and animal bones which were strapped together with latex to look like guts. Amazing, if a little, well, ewww!

Image

Image

Michele is my new sewing heroine. She even shares how to do some of the techniques on her website. If I’m ever in a battle I want her designing my armour and of course Daenerys Targaryen and Arya Stark on my side with Jon Snow there for, shall we say, ‘emotional support’.

Leave a Reply

